Charles Ives Symphony #4 with the Mannes Orchestra
Alice Tully Hall
1941 Broadway
New York, NY 10023
Wednesday, March 6, 2024

The New York Choral Society joins The Mannes Orchestra for a performance of Charles Ives’ Symphony No. 4.

Notable for its multilayered complexity and for its large and varied orchestration, this symphony combines elements and techniques of Ives’s previous compositional work.It  has been called “one of his most definitive works” and  Ives’ biographer, Jan Swafford, has called it “Ives’s climactic masterpiece”

Concert Program

Kaija Saariaho (1952-2023) – Orion (New York Premiere)
Wayne Horvitz (b. 1955) – Those Who Remain (Part 1): Concerto for Orchestra and Improvising Soloist  with Bill Frisell, Guitarist (New York Premiere)
Charles Ives (1874-1954) – Symphony No. 4 with the New York Choral Society

Tickets now on sale